Open data · Tool terms

What your tools' terms say about your data

Slack, Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Salesforce, Notion and 15 more. Who owns what you put in, whether the vendor trains AI on it, what you can export on your plan, and what happens when you cancel. Every answer is the vendor's own sentence, with a link and the day we read it.

Tools
20
Documents read
290
Quoted facts
376
Answers by plan
433

Updated October 23, 2026. Each tool has been read once so far; a second read checks every quote and every reading. 77 of the 376 facts are our reading of the text rather than its words, marked with an asterisk. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0.

Tool by tool

One line per tool. Where the answer depends on the plan, each group of plans gets its own line. Export and history kept are on each tool's page. An asterisk marks our reading of the text.

ToolWho owns itAI trainingAggregated useAfter the account ends
Slack
11 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerGenerative: opt-in. Other models: opt-outReservedFree: None, export before the account ends. Pro, Business+, Enterprise: 30 days to export*
GitHub
15 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerFree, Pro: Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off. Team, Enterprise Cloud: NoReserved90 days to export
Intercom
11 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerOpt-out: on unless the customer turns it offReservedKept 30 days; export not stated
Atlassian Cloud (Jira, Confluence)
11 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerFree, Standard, Premium: Yes, no opt-out. Enterprise: Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it offReservedFree: Kept 60 days, no export. Standard, Premium, Enterprise: 60 days to export
Sentry
12 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerGenerative: opt-in. Other models: yesReservedNone, export before the account ends
Vercel
15 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customer*Hobby: Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off. Pro: Opt-in: off unless the customer turns it on. Enterprise: No*ReservedNo fixed window; export not stated
HubSpot
19 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerOpt-out: on unless the customer turns it off*ReservedFree, Starter, Professional, Enterprise: None, export before the account ends. Marketing Hub Professional and Enterprise: 30 days to export
Zendesk
20 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerGenerative: no. Other models: opt-outReserved30 days to export
Google Workspace
15 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerOpt-in: off unless the customer turns it on*Not reservedKept 210 days, no export*
Notion
21 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerOpt-in: off unless the customer turns it onReserved30 days to export
Microsoft Teams
13 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerGenerative: no. Other models: the terms don't sayReserved90 days to export
Salesforce (Sales Cloud / Service Cloud)
15 facts · read 2026-10-22
The customerGenerative: opt-in. Other models: opt-outReserved30 days to export
Microsoft 365 (Outlook, Exchange Online, SharePoint, OneDrive)
24 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerGenerative: no. Other models: the terms don't sayReserved90 days to export
Linear
23 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerNoReservedKept 30 days, no export*
Asana
26 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerGenerative: no. Other models: opt-out*ReservedPersonal: Not read yet. Starter, Advanced, Enterprise, Enterprise+: 30 days to export
Zoom Workplace
24 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerNoReserved30 days to export
Gong
23 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerGenerative: no. Other models: yes*Reserved*30 days to export
Freshdesk
20 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerOpt-out: on unless the customer turns it off*Reserved14 days to export
Discord
26 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerGenerative: the terms don't say. Other models: yes*ReservedNone, export before the account ends
Dropbox
32 facts · read 2026-10-23
The customerGenerative: opt-in. Other models: yesReservedBasic, Plus, Essentials: Kept 30 days, no export. Business (Standard), Business Plus (Advanced), Enterprise: No fixed window; export on request*

"The terms don't say" means every contract, AI page and data processing addendum for the tool was read and none answers. "Not read yet" means a document that could answer is still unread. AI training has two parts: generative models and other models (ranking, spam, suggestions). Opt-out means training is on until the customer turns it off.

Where vendors disagree with themselves

Places where one vendor's documents give different answers. The quotes side by side, with their dates. The table follows the contract; the other document is listed with it.

Gong: "never" trained on generative models, and a press release that says it was

Gong · AI training

The headline follows the trust page, read 2026-10-23. The 2023 press release describes models built before it.

Linear: the contract says no training, an undated docs page describes training

Linear · AI training

The headline follows the AI Services Addendum, which is the contract.

Asana: no generative training in the terms, training on metadata in the privacy statement

Asana · AI training

  • Generative: no For purposes of clarity, Asana does not use or permit third-party AI partners to use Customer Data to train generative artificial intelligence models used to provide Asana AI. Product-Specific Terms (Asana AI and add-ons), read 2026-10-23 · fact
  • Other models: opt-out* When features powered by Asana AI are enabled in your domain, we use metadata related to your domain's use of Asana to train machine learning models. Privacy Statement, read 2026-10-23 · fact

Both can be true at once: the terms cover generative models, the privacy statement covers other models. The table shows them as two answers.

Freshdesk: three deletion clocks after cancellation

Freshdesk · After the account ends

The headline follows the Terms: 14 days to export, then up to three more months before deletion.

Zoom: recordings "remain available for 30 days", or need a new subscription

Zoom Workplace · After the account ends

  • 30 days to export When your paid subscription ends, cloud recordings remain available for 30 days. Canceling your Zoom subscription (KB0066687), read 2026-10-23 · fact
  • Kept 30 days, no export If you were previously able to create cloud recordings, and then were downgraded to a free account, you will not have access to those recordings until you resubscribe to a paid account within a 30 day period. Enabling cloud recording (KB0063923), read 2026-10-23 · fact

Two help articles, both read 2026-10-23. The Terms give 30 days to retrieve data.

What changed

No answer has changed since the first read on October 22, 2026. When a vendor changes its terms, the old row stays with its date and the new one points at it. Each change shows here and in the Atom feed.

Vendors do change these pages. Atlassian changed its data contribution rules on August 17, 2026, GitHub its Copilot training terms on April 24, 2026, Vercel its terms on October 19, 2026. Every tool is reread at least every 90 days and at once when a vendor announces new AI terms.

Download

Rebuilt on every deploy from one hand-kept source file. For citations, use the monthly snapshot, which is frozen once its month closes.

API and MCP

Keyless and read-only. Responses carry the license block, a total and a next_offset for paging. Cached for an hour. Spec: openapi.json. AI assistants can call the same query through our MCP server as the tool get_tool_terms.

Tools

GET https://dataconto.com/api/tools.json
  ?tool=slack
  &record_type=slack-and-teams   a /data page slug
  &field=ownership|ai_training|aggregate_use|
         export|retention|after_cancel
  &plan=Free                     as the vendor spells it
  &answer=opt_out                see tokens below
  &facts=false                   headline answers only
  &limit=100&offset=0

Answer tokens

ownership      customer, vendor, shared, not_stated
ai_training    no, opt_in, opt_out, yes, not_stated
aggregate_use  reserved, not_reserved, not_stated
export         all, partial, none
retention      all, none, days
after_cancel   export, no_export, not_stated

Example: /api/tools.json?field=ai_training&answer=opt_out&facts=false lists the tools where AI training is on until the customer turns it off.

How the rows are made

  1. We read each document on the vendor's own site, in English, signed out: the customer agreement for ownership and termination, the AI or trust page for training, help articles for export and history, the data processing addendum for deletion.
  2. We copy the sentence that answers, word for word, with the link and the date. One fact per sentence per document.
  3. A cell says "The terms don't say" only after every contract, AI page and data processing addendum for that tool has been read. Until then it says "Not read yet".
  4. When an answer follows from the text rather than being stated in it, the fact is marked inferred, shown with an asterisk, and its note says what the reading rests on.
  5. Each tool has one headline answer per question and plan. Other facts on the same question show on the tool's page as details or supporting quotes.
  6. When a vendor changes a term, we add a fact and point it at the one it replaces. Nothing is deleted.
  7. Every quote is checked against the live page before a release. A page that has moved or can't be reached is marked, and its facts say so.

The six questions

Who owns it
Who owns the data the customer puts in?
AI training
Does the vendor train AI on it?
Aggregated use
Does the vendor keep a right to use it aggregated, de-identified or as usage data?
What you can export
What can the customer export, and who can run it?
History kept
How much history does the plan keep?
After the account ends
How long is data kept after the account ends, and can it still be exported?

What this is not

A vendor's terms bind the vendor. Whether a company can license its own records is a separate question, decided by personal data law, employee notice and customer contracts, not by these pages. Our rights checklist walks through it. None of this is legal advice.

We hold no agreement with any vendor listed here. The tools were picked because they hold the records AI buyers take, plus three developer tools people ask about.

License: CC BY 4.0

Copy it, build on it, sell what you build, as long as you credit Dataconto with a link to this page. The quotes stay the words of the vendor that published them. Our terms name the covered files.

Cite this dataset

Dataconto (2026). Tool terms: what business tools' terms say about customer data. Version 2026-10-23. https://dataconto.com/open-data/tools

Attribution text: Data from Dataconto (https://dataconto.com/open-data/tools), CC BY 4.0. Credit Dataconto with a link.

Selling the records these tools hold?

The records by type pages show which AI companies take Slack history, email, tickets, CRM, docs and call recordings, and how to export each. The buyer database has what each pays.

Spotted an error or a changed term? Write to contact@dataconto.com with the page and the date.