What Intercom's terms say about your data
Six questions, answered from the documents Intercom publishes: 11 quoted facts from 10 pages, read October 22, 2026. Vendor: Intercom, Inc.. Plans covered: Essential, Advanced, Expert.
- Who owns it
- The customer
- AI training
- Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off
- Aggregated use
- Reserved
- What you can export
- Everything by an admin through the API
- History kept
- All of it
- After the account ends
- Kept 30 days; export not stated
An asterisk marks our reading of the text rather than its words; the fact's note says what it rests on. "The terms don't say" means every contract, AI page and data processing addendum was read. Not legal advice.
Selling Intercom records? See who takes Support tickets.
Who owns the data the customer puts in?
The customer · covers all customer data
- Headline Every plan covers all customer data
The customer
As between the parties, Customer will retain all of Customer's Intellectual Property Rights in and to the Customer Data.
Intercom Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Section 3.2. Same section grants Intercom a license to use Customer Data to provide and improve the Services.
Does the vendor train AI on it?
Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off · covers all customer data
- Supporting Every plan covers all customer data
Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off*
Customer hereby grants to Intercom a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free right to access, use and display the Customer Data during the Term in order to provide and improve our Services, including for Intercom AI model training.
Intercom Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Terms 3.2 permits training by default; opt-out is in the help article (next fact). The help article speaks of the 'Fin CX Model Suite' (de-identified Fin conversation logs only, not human-agent conversations) and does not split generative from other models, so other_models=opt_out follows the general wording of 3.2 and the opt-out; treat as a judgment call. Auto-excluded: BAA customers, EU/AU hosted workspaces, pre-Sept-2025 MSSA contracts, trials. Third Party AI Providers are contractually barred from training (Additional Product Terms).
- Headline Every plan covers all customer data
Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off
If you want to opt out of AI model training and fine-tuning, you can request an opt-out through Settings > Workspace > Security > AI model training and fine-tuning.
AI model training and fine-tuning (help) (ai policy), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Opt-outs processed within 30 days; article written September 8, 2026.
- Detail Every plan covers training by third-party AI providers
Opt-out: on unless the customer turns it off
Intercom contractually restricts Third Party AI Providers from using Customer Data for training or otherwise improving Third Party AI Provider's services.
Intercom Additional Product Terms (AI Products) (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Applies to third-party LLM providers (OpenAI, Anthropic, etc.), not to Intercom's own models.
Does the vendor keep a right to use it aggregated, de-identified or as usage data?
Reserved · covers usage and anonymized data
- Headline Every plan covers usage and anonymized data
Reserved
Intercom retains all ownership in and to Usage Data and Anonymized Data.
Intercom Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Section 3.4 lets Intercom use Usage Data and de-identified/anonymized Customer Data to analyze, improve, support and operate the Services during and after the term; survives termination (8.4).
What can the customer export, and who can run it?
Everything by an admin through the API · covers conversations, full content
- Headline Every plan covers conversations, full content
Everything by an admin through the API
For large-scale exports, you can use Intercom's Conversations API to retrieve full conversation content in bulk.
Export your conversations data (help) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Applies to all plans (no plan gating stated). Export API max 90-day timeframe per request. 'who' inferred: API access needs a workspace access token; article does not name a role.
- Detail Every plan covers reporting data and transcripts
Part of it by an admin through an admin screen or a self-serve screen
Reporting metadata only: CSV exports contain reporting metadata (e.g. conversation IDs, timestamps, attributes, and metrics) but do not include full message or conversation content.
Export your conversations data (help) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
In-app: per-conversation and bulk (200-300 per operation) PDF/text transcripts; Dataset CSV (needs 'Can export CSV' permission); S3 JSON export without transcripts; CSV and JSON data 'available for up to two years'. Contacts CSV via Export users (intercom-export-users). 'who' = teammates with export permissions, recorded as admin.
How much history does the plan keep?
All of it · covers all customer data
- Headline Every plan covers all customer data
All of it
Intercom agrees only that it will not intentionally delete any Customer Data from the Services prior to termination of Customer's applicable Subscription Term and expressly disclaims all other obligations with respect to storage.
Intercom Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Section 3.3; no plan-based history limit found on pricing or help pages, so one fact for all plans. Exception: anonymous visitors unseen for 9 months are deleted (next fact); user data unaffected. Reporting exports reach back about two years.
- Detail Every plan covers anonymous visitor records
All of it
We will automatically delete the entire record and event history of visitors who have not visited your site in 9 months.
How Intercom tracks and stores data (help) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Visitor (anonymous) records only; 'This change only impacts visitor data - your user data is unaffected.' Kept as a qualifier to the retention fact, not a plan limit.
How long is data kept after the account ends, and can it still be exported?
Kept 30 days; export not stated · covers all customer data
- Headline Every plan covers all customer data
Kept 30 days; export not stated
Customer acknowledges that thirty (30) days following termination, it will have no further access to any Customer Data input into any Service, and that Intercom may delete any such data as may have been stored by Intercom at any time.
Intercom Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
Section 8.3 implies access for up to 30 days after termination but does not say export is possible then, hence not_stated. DPA section 10 (next fact) sets automatic deletion of personal data at 180 days.
- Detail Every plan covers personal data
Kept 180 days; export not stated
If Customer does not request deletion of Customer Personal Data, Intercom will automatically delete it from our systems 180 days after the termination or expiration of this Agreement.
Data Processing Addendum (data processing addendum), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact
DPA section 10: at Customer's election Intercom will delete or return personal data on termination; deletion on request within 30 days; backups deleted 14 days after live deletion. DPA version shown is effective November 4, 2026 (dated after today).
What the read couldn't settle
- No per-plan differences found for export or retention; Essential/Advanced/Expert treated alike. Pricing page does not mention retention.
- after_cancel export_window: Terms 8.3 implies access ends 30 days after termination but never says export stays available in that window; DPA says data is deleted or returned 'at Customer's election'.
- ai_training other_models: help article covers 'Fin CX Model Suite' without separating generative vs other models; set opt_out on the general Terms 3.2 wording.
- export 'who': help articles name permissions ('Can export CSV', 'Can export conversation data'), not roles; recorded as admin.
- DPA page shows 'Effective November 4, 2026', a date after today; the prior version link was not read.
- Help article 10213899 and 2046229 show only relative dates ('Updated over 3 weeks ago', 'over 2 weeks ago'), so version is null.
Documents
10 of 10 read. Each fact above names the one it comes from.
- Intercom Terms of Service Terms · version 2026-09-08 · read 2026-10-22
- Intercom Additional Product Terms (AI Products) Terms · version 2026-03-18 · read 2026-10-22
- Data Processing Addendum Data processing addendum · version 2026-11-04 · read 2026-10-22
- AI model training and fine-tuning (help) AI policy · version 2026-09-08 · read 2026-10-22
- Intercom AI Products: A guide for customer legal and security teams (help) AI policy · read 2026-10-22
- Export your conversations data (help) Help article · read 2026-10-22
- How to export users, leads or company data (help) Help article · version 2025-07-21 · read 2026-10-22
- How Intercom tracks and stores data (help) Help article · version 2025-04-23 · read 2026-10-22
- Intercom pricing Plans page · read 2026-10-22
- Intercom Privacy Policy Privacy policy · read 2026-10-22
Part of Tool terms, 20 tools under CC BY 4.0. JSON for this tool: /api/tools.json?tool=intercom. Spotted a changed term? Write to contact@dataconto.com with the page and the date.