Open data · Tool terms

What Notion's terms say about your data

Six questions, answered from the documents Notion publishes: 21 quoted facts from 12 pages, read October 22, 2026. Vendor: Notion Labs, Inc.. Plans covered: Free, Plus, Business, Enterprise.

Who owns it
The customer
AI training
Opt-in: off unless the customer turns it on
Aggregated use
Reserved
What you can export
Free, Plus, Business: Part of it by the owner through an admin screen or a self-serve screen. Enterprise: Everything by the owner through an admin screen, a self-serve screen or the API*
History kept
Free: 7 days, older data hidden, not deleted. Plus: 30 days, older data hidden, not deleted. Business: 90 days, older data hidden, not deleted. Enterprise: All of it
After the account ends
30 days to export

An asterisk marks our reading of the text rather than its words; the fact's note says what it rests on. "The terms don't say" means every contract, AI page and data processing addendum was read. Not legal advice.

Selling Notion records? See who takes Documents, wikis and SOPs.

Who owns it

Who owns the data the customer puts in?

The customer · covers all customer data (pages, databases, files, AI input and output)

  1. Headline Every plan covers all customer data (pages, databases, files, AI input and output)

    The customer

    As between Customer and Notion, Customer retains all right, title, interest and ownership of the Customer Data, including all Intellectual Property Rights therein.

    Master Subscription Agreement (organizations and Plus, Business, Enterprise plans) (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    MSA 3.1. Next sentence: "No ownership rights in the Customer Data are transferred to Notion by this Agreement." The license Notion takes is "solely in order to provide the Services". The MSA governs organizations and every Plus, Business and Enterprise plan; personal use falls under the Personal Use Terms (see supporting fact).

  2. Supporting Every plan covers user content in personal workspaces

    The customer

    We do not claim any ownership rights in any User Content and nothing in these Terms will be deemed to restrict any rights that you may have to use and exploit your User Content.

    Personal Use Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Personal Use Terms, Content Ownership. Content posted to an organization's workspace belongs to that organization: "the Organization will own all rights to such Organization Content."

  3. Detail Every plan covers Notion AI input and output

    The customer

    When you use Notion AI, Input and Output are your Customer Data.

    Notion AI and Notion Credit Supplementary Terms (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    AI Supplementary Terms, Input and Output. The AI security page says the same: "Notion doesn't claim ownership of what you put into Notion AI or what it generates."

AI training

Does the vendor train AI on it?

Opt-in: off unless the customer turns it on · covers all customer data, including Notion AI input and output

  1. Headline Every plan covers all customer data, including Notion AI input and output

    Opt-in: off unless the customer turns it on

    By default, neither Notion nor our AI providers use your Customer Data to train any models.

    Notion AI security & privacy practices (ai policy), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    "Any models" covers generative and other models, hence both parts. "By default" plus the AI Terms' exception (training on data from Notion AI use only when you give feedback such as thumbs up or down, or "give us your permission") make it opt-in, not a flat no. No in-product opt-in setting is described. Same page: "Our contracts with AI providers prohibit them from using your data to train their models".

  2. Detail Every plan covers all customer data

    No

    Notion does not use your Customer Data or permit others to use your Customer Data to train the artificial intelligence and machine learning models used to provide Notion AI.

    Notion AI and Notion Credit Supplementary Terms (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    AI Supplementary Terms, Improving Notion AI: the contract wording, which forms part of both the MSA and the Personal Use Terms. Next paragraph is the exception: "We may use data we collect from your use of Notion AI to improve our models when you (i) voluntarily provide Feedback to us such as by labeling Output with a thumbs up or thumbs down; or (ii) give us your permission." That exception is why the headline says opt_in.

  3. Detail Every plan covers Notion AI usage data you give feedback on

    Generative: opt-in

    We may use data we collect from your use of Notion AI to improve our models when you (i) voluntarily provide Feedback to us such as by labeling Output with a thumbs up or thumbs down; or (ii) give us your permission.

    Notion AI and Notion Credit Supplementary Terms (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    The MSA FAQ restates the default: "By default, Notion does not, and does not allow any third parties (including its AI service providers) to, use Customer Data (including inputs and outputs) to train any artificial intelligence or machine learning models."

Aggregated use

Does the vendor keep a right to use it aggregated, de-identified or as usage data?

Reserved · covers usage data (how the service is used, not page content)

  1. Headline Every plan covers usage data (how the service is used, not page content)

    Reserved

    disclose Usage Data to third parties only in an aggregated and/or de-identified form and in a manner that does not identify Customer or any of its Users.

    Master Subscription Agreement (organizations and Plus, Business, Enterprise plans) (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    MSA 3.2 B. Part (i) of the same sentence lets Notion "collect, analyze and otherwise process Usage Data internally for its business purposes", and 3.2 says Notion owns Usage Data. The MSA reserves no aggregated use of Customer Data (page content) itself.

  2. Supporting Every plan covers information Notion collects about users

    Reserved

    We may use de-identified and/or aggregated information that can no longer be reasonably linked to you or your device from the information we collect.

    Privacy Policy (privacy policy), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Privacy Policy, De-identified and Aggregated Information Use; such information "is not subject to this Privacy Policy" and may be used for "research, internal analysis, analytics, and any other legally permissible purposes."

What you can export

What can the customer export, and who can run it?

PlanAnswerCovers
Free Part of it by the owner through an admin screen or a self-serve screen* pages, databases and uploaded files the exporter can access
Plus Part of it by the owner through an admin screen or a self-serve screen* pages, databases and uploaded files the exporter can access
Business Part of it by the owner through an admin screen or a self-serve screen* pages, databases and uploaded files the exporter can access
Enterprise Everything by the owner through an admin screen, a self-serve screen or the API* pages, databases and uploaded files, including pages the owner grants itself access to
  1. Headline Free, Plus covers pages, databases and uploaded files the exporter can access

    Part of it by the owner through an admin screen or a self-serve screen*

    You can export all your pages as HTML, Markdown, or CSV (for databases), along with any files you've uploaded, too.

    Export your content (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Scope partial: "Pages that the exporter doesn't have access to, such as private pages of other users, will not be included in the export." Who=owner is our reading: the export sits under Settings > Workspace > General, and the Workspace settings article says "Only Workspace owners can access these workspace settings." Any member can export single pages (PDF, HTML, Markdown & CSV) they can open. Pricing lists "Export entire workspace as HTML, Markdown, & CSV" on all four plans.

  2. Headline Business covers pages, databases and uploaded files the exporter can access

    Part of it by the owner through an admin screen or a self-serve screen*

    If you're on a Business or Enterprise Plan, you can also export your entire workspace to PDF, which can be helpful for legal and compliance backups.

    Workspace settings (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Plus HTML, Markdown and CSV as on every plan. Private pages of other users are left out. Who=owner is our reading (workspace settings are owner-only per the same article's FAQ). Workspace PDF export is being withdrawn: "The option to export workspace content as a PDF is going away" (Back up your data, rollout through August 31, 2026), while the pricing page still lists it for Business and Enterprise.

  3. Headline Enterprise covers pages, databases and uploaded files, including pages the owner grants itself access to

    Everything by the owner through an admin screen, a self-serve screen or the API*

    Workspace owners on the Enterprise Plan can give themselves and others access to specific pages using content search, so that those pages can be included in future exports.

    Workspace settings (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Scope all is our reading: on Enterprise an owner can reach other users' private pages through content search before exporting; "Some content also may not be exported based on teamspace settings." API: the Export help article says a workspace export can be started with the admin API, "it's in beta on the Enterprise Plan, and an organization owner has to set up an admin bot and token first." Enterprise owners can also disable export for members. PDF caveat as on Business.

  4. Detail Enterprise covers whole workspace, by admin API

    Part of it by the owner through the API

    It works at the workspace level, it's in beta on the Enterprise Plan, and an organization owner has to set up an admin bot and token first.

    Export your content (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Enterprise only. Formats not stated for the API route.

  5. Supporting Every plan covers all customer data

    Everything by any member through a self-serve screen

    At any time during the Subscription Term, Customer may export Customer Data from the Services using Notion's self-service export functionality in an industry-standard format then-supported by the Services and as specified in the applicable Documentation.

    Master Subscription Agreement (organizations and Plus, Business, Enterprise plans) (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    MSA 3.1: the contractual export right. The DPA's security annex adds: "Through the Workspace settings menu, Notion customers are able to export Customer Data from their Workspaces at the page-level or Workspace-level, or request to delete a Workspace."

History kept

How much history does the plan keep?

PlanAnswerCovers
Free 7 days, older data hidden, not deleted page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)
Plus 30 days, older data hidden, not deleted page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)
Business 90 days, older data hidden, not deleted page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)
Enterprise All of it page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)
  1. Headline Free covers page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)

    7 days, older data hidden, not deleted

    7 days if you're on a Free Plan.

    Delete & restore content (incl. version history) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Lead-in: "You can view and restore past versions of any Notion page going back:". The pricing page agrees (Page history: 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, Unlimited). Current pages and databases have no plan time limit; only restorable history differs. deletes_older=false because the help text limits viewing and restoring, not storage; the MSA (4.2) warns a downgrade "may cause loss of content (e.g., page histories or audit logs)", so older versions may not survive a downgrade.

  2. Headline Plus covers page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)

    30 days, older data hidden, not deleted

    30 days if you're on a Plus Plan.

    Delete & restore content (incl. version history) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Lead-in: "You can view and restore past versions of any Notion page going back:". The pricing page agrees (Page history: 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, Unlimited). Current pages and databases have no plan time limit; only restorable history differs. deletes_older=false because the help text limits viewing and restoring, not storage; the MSA (4.2) warns a downgrade "may cause loss of content (e.g., page histories or audit logs)", so older versions may not survive a downgrade.

  3. Headline Business covers page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)

    90 days, older data hidden, not deleted

    90 days if you're on a Business Plan.

    Delete & restore content (incl. version history) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Lead-in: "You can view and restore past versions of any Notion page going back:". The pricing page agrees (Page history: 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, Unlimited). Current pages and databases have no plan time limit; only restorable history differs. deletes_older=false because the help text limits viewing and restoring, not storage; the MSA (4.2) warns a downgrade "may cause loss of content (e.g., page histories or audit logs)", so older versions may not survive a downgrade.

  4. Headline Enterprise covers page version history (current pages are kept while the workspace exists)

    All of it

    Any number of days if you're on an Enterprise Plan.

    Delete & restore content (incl. version history) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Lead-in: "You can view and restore past versions of any Notion page going back:". The pricing page agrees (Page history: 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, Unlimited). Current pages and databases have no plan time limit; only restorable history differs. deletes_older=false because the help text limits viewing and restoring, not storage; the MSA (4.2) warns a downgrade "may cause loss of content (e.g., page histories or audit logs)", so older versions may not survive a downgrade.

  5. Detail Every plan covers deleted pages (Trash)

    30 days, older data deleted

    By default, pages will remain in Trash for 30 days before they are permanently deleted from Trash.

    Delete & restore content (incl. version history) (help article), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Next sentence: "Once pages are permanently deleted from Trash, they are retained for 30 days before they become inaccessible to all users, even workspace owners. Enterprise Plan workspace owners may customize these settings."

After the account ends

How long is data kept after the account ends, and can it still be exported?

30 days to export · covers all customer data

  1. Headline Every plan covers all customer data

    30 days to export

    Upon any termination of this Agreement, Notion will make all Customer Data available to Customer for electronic retrieval for a period of thirty (30) days.

    Master Subscription Agreement (organizations and Plus, Business, Enterprise plans) (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    MSA 10.4. Next sentence: after that "Notion will have no obligation to Customer to continue storing such Customer Data and may delete all Customer Data pursuant to its data deletion processes as described in the DPA." Applies to every plan under the MSA (organizations and Plus, Business, Enterprise). Personal Free workspaces: see detail fact.

  2. Supporting Every plan covers customer data in production and backups

    30 days to export

    Notion will maintain all terminated customer accounts in an inactive status for up to 30 days and after such period Customer Data is securely overwritten from production within 90 days (up to a max of 180 days).

    Data Processing Addendum (data processing addendum), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    DPA security annex, data retention. Next sentence: "Backup data is deleted within 180 days of account termination." DPA 8.1: on request at termination Notion will return "(or make available for export in accordance with the Agreement)" or destroy Customer Personal Data.

  3. Detail Every plan covers personal workspace content (Personal Use Terms)

    Kept 30 days, no export

    Upon your request to delete a Personal Workspace, all Content from such Personal Workspace will immediately become inaccessible.

    Personal Use Terms of Service (terms), read 2026-10-22 · link to this fact

    Personal Use Terms, section 15. Next sentence: "After 30 days, User Content will be deleted from our servers and can no longer be recovered." Notion may also end a personal account "immediately, without prior notice". The Workspace settings article says deleting a workspace "is permanent" and to export first; the AI security page says a deleted page or workspace can be restored within 30 days, and support can restore backup snapshots from the past 30 days.

What the read couldn't settle

  • Legal pages live on notion.notion.site and render with JavaScript; their text was read and quotes checked through the same site's public page-data endpoint (api/v3/loadPageChunk), not a plain HTML fetch. A plain-curl quote checker will need that path. Old notion.so/notion/... legal URLs now 404 on app.notion.com.
  • Who can run a full workspace export (owner only, or admins too) is not stated in the export article; owner is our reading of the workspace settings FAQ.
  • Workspace PDF export: the Back up your data article says it is being removed (rollout through 2026-08-31), but the pricing page still lists 'Export entire workspace as PDF' on Business and Enterprise. Recheck before shipping.
  • Retention headlines cover page version history; Notion states no time limit on current pages and databases. Whether versions older than the plan window are deleted or only hidden is not stated.
  • AI training scored opt_in (default off; feedback or explicit permission allows training on Notion AI usage data). No in-product opt-in switch was found; the AI Terms' contract sentence alone would read as 'no'.
  • Personal Use Terms govern Free workspaces used personally; organizations on Free fall under the MSA. after_cancel headline follows the MSA; the personal case is a detail fact.
  • Help articles show no visible last-updated date (only an embedded updatedAt in page data), so version is null; MSA version is its stated effective date (2026-08-17).

Documents

12 of 12 read. Each fact above names the one it comes from.

  1. Master Subscription Agreement (organizations and Plus, Business, Enterprise plans) Terms · version 2026-08-17 · read 2026-10-22
  2. Personal Use Terms of Service Terms · version 2025-09-29 · read 2026-10-22
  3. Notion AI and Notion Credit Supplementary Terms Terms · version 2026-07-27 · read 2026-10-22
  4. Data Processing Addendum Data processing addendum · version 2026-08-14 · read 2026-10-22
  5. Privacy Policy Privacy policy · version 2026-10-01 · read 2026-10-22
  6. MSA FAQ (informational, not part of the contract) Terms · read 2026-10-22
  7. Notion AI security & privacy practices AI policy · read 2026-10-22
  8. Export your content Help article · read 2026-10-22
  9. Back up your data Help article · read 2026-10-22
  10. Workspace settings Help article · read 2026-10-22
  11. Delete & restore content (incl. version history) Help article · read 2026-10-22
  12. Notion pricing (plan comparison) Plans page · read 2026-10-22

Part of Tool terms, 20 tools under CC BY 4.0. JSON for this tool: /api/tools.json?tool=notion. Spotted a changed term? Write to contact@dataconto.com with the page and the date.